Steve & Betty

Sharing the Good News of Jesus!

“The day after…..”

I have been awake since 3:00 AM and up since 4:20 AM. This is not unusual for me on a work day, but my office is closed for the Thanksgiving Holiday. My internal alarm clock went off and that was it. No amount of forced eye closure or pillow over the head, could turn it off. After two cups of coffee and a slice of pumpkin pie later, I remembered that I had an appointment scheduled this morning for blood work at 7:00 AM. Since I was supposed to be Fasting, the aforesaid coffee and pie made that an impossibility, so fortunately I could cancel the appointment online. Now sitting at the computer after canceling my appointment, I find myself with thoughts scrolling through my brain that I wish to share with those of you who are following our Blog or just decided to check it out today.

Yesterday was Thanksgiving, 2015. The day set aside by our first president George Washington in 1789 with this proclamation.

“Whereas it is the duty of all nations to acknowledge the providence of Almighty God, to obey His will, to be grateful for His benefits, and humble to implore His protection, aide, and favors. Now, therefore, I do recommend and assign Thursday, the 26th of November next, to be devoted by the people of the United States to the service of that great and glorious Being, who is the benevolent Author of all the good that was, and is, or that will be; that we may all then unite in rendering unto Him our sincere and humble thanks for His kind care and protection of the people of this country, and for all the great and various favors which He has been pleased to confer upon us.”

I knew I liked this president, I never cared for his hairdo, but I really appreciated his stance on God and Country and still do.

So how did I spend my day yesterday? First of all I woke up at my son’s house in time to spend a little mother-son time with him before he left to do a 4 mile run for the Hungry and Homeless in Palm Beach County, Florida, the “Run for the Pie”. I am so thankful for this son of ours. He  is such a “giver”.

I did not cook a single item of food yesterday. A first for me. I watched my son prepare two turkey breasts to go into his smoker before he left for his run, but my hands did not help. I had a cup of coffee and sent “Happy Thanksgiving” wishes to our daughter and family and friends via texting and Face Book, while sitting on my son’s dock watching the sea birds dive into the canal that empties into the intercoastal, searching for their “Thanksgiving Feast”. I watched about 10 minutes of the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade and then with hugs all around, said goodbye to our son and his girlfriend. Feeling thankful, Steve and I drove away leaving them to finish preparing their contribution to the Thanksgiving Feast that they would be sharing with friends later.

Heading north on I-95, munching on Sausage McMuffins and sipping coffee, (feeling a little guilty because the employees at McDonald’s were having to work) we chatted about the wonderful visit we’d enjoyed with our son, granddaughter and our son’s girlfriend. We had watched and listened to the crystal clear voice of our granddaughter as she portrayed  Ariel, in her school’s musical  of “The Little Mermaid” two nights earlier and we were “proud as peacocks”, whatever that means, and thankful to be her grandparents.

We decided to stop in Vero Beach to visit with my sister and pick up lunch at “Boston Market”. I was again feeling a little guilty about this decision, but when I walked into “Boston Market” I was met with at least 15 smiling faces serving up Thanksgiving Fixin’s for those of us who were not spending the day in the kitchen. I wasn’t alone in my decision to not cook, the place was packed with others just like me, thankful for these young cooks and servers who shared their delight in the day, with smiles and laughter.

The time we spent with my sister was so special. We enjoyed just talking and laughing at Molly Mae, my sister’s chubby cat. None of us were hungry, so we didn’t even eat the food I had picked up, we just “feasted” on each others company. Our Mama passed away this year, June 10, 2015 and this was our first Thanksgiving without her. What could have been a very sad day for these two “Adult Orphans” was a delight, as we shared our thankfulness with each other and Steve.

Hoping to get back to our home in Volusia County, Florida before dark, we left with laughter, hugs and promises to texted when we were home safely. Once again back on I-95 North, we shared our thankfulness with each other about the perfect visit we’d enjoyed with my sister.

As we drove along the marsh land through Brevard County, we both commented on how much we loved this view. It “soothes the savage beast” in me just to be able to turn my gaze onto this panorama of grasses and water. For those of you who do not know Florida well and think of it as only beaches, which I also love, the marsh land is home to so many animals and birds and is an absolute necessity in replenishing our aquifer. We were both thankful for the recent rains we have had that keep this wonderful area of our state healthy.

Turning off of I-95 onto SR 46W., we once again chose to stop at McDonald’s for a “Hot Fudge Sundae With Peanuts”. It looked like it was closed when we pulled in, but the drive through was opened and this “sweet voiced” young woman asked to take our order. I hope she got to go home soon; she was such a sweetheart. The sundae was perfect and almost as sweet as she was. We were thankful once again.

SR 46W. to CR 415  is a two-lane road and most of it passes through marsh land that flows from the St. John’s River. It is one of our favorite drives and hard to take for granted as it meanders through three different counties, Brevard, Volusia and Seminole. If you look carefully you can see the heads of alligators in the water or maybe sunning on the banks. An occasional air boat filled with fun-loving, adventure-seeking Floridians and tourists may be observed “flying” over the marsh grasses as well.  The sun was beginning to set as we approached CR 415 and the golden rays turned the water into a shining highway for the fishermen in their boats.  This drive can cause the most cynical to be thankful for this gift of beauty from our Creator. We were.

As we pulled into our driveway, we were thankful to arrive home before the sun fully set. We knew that our five very needy indoor cats were reaching the end of their limit of being alone, even with food and water dispensers and extra litter boxes. And that our four outdoor “ferals” were wondering where their special treats were. We have a truly special neighbor who feeds our ferals when we are away. We are so thankful for her.

After caring for their needs and unloading our car, I warmed up our “Boston Market” feast in the microwave. Warming is NOT cooking. We sat and finally enjoyed this “somewhat” traditional meal. As our day came to a close, we were thankful that our stomachs were full, we had a roof over our heads, we had been with or been in touch with family and friends, but most of all that we served a loving God who made this all possible.

So as I now reminisce on this,”the day after” anything but a traditional celebration,   I wouldn’t change a minute of  it and am extremely thankful for  the benevolent Author of all the good that was, and is, or that will be.”

Shalom……

Betty

 

 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on ““The day after…..”

  1. I love it that we share a love of writing! I enjoy reading your blog, and I didn’t realize about George Washington and Thanksgiving. Thankful you are my Aunt!

  2. Joe and Carol Ann D'Agostino on said:

    Betty thanks for sharing, just have to let you know we are thankful to have you and Steve as friends missing you both so glad to hear of your wonderful Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

Storyshucker

A blog full of humorous and poignant observations.

firestone2012

poetry and short stories

adoptingjames

Read our Mission. Find out how you can help us adopt James.

Ups and Downs and All Arounds

Thoughts on life and living

The Thanksgiving Year

Just one more thing to be thankful for...

Loving Ministry

Loving each other with unconditional Love

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Sharing the Good News of Jesus!

Steve & Betty

Sharing the Good News of Jesus!

Sackcloth Under Royal Robes

Sharing the Good News of Jesus!

Women Living Well

Sharing the Good News of Jesus!

JohnSWilson3 Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Lady of Longbourn

Sharing the Good News of Jesus!

Speak When Spoken Through

Sharing the Good News of Jesus!

Quilting Potpourri

Sharing the Good News of Jesus!

Messy Spirituality

Sharing the Good News of Jesus!

Ecografia 4d

Sharing the Good News of Jesus!

Bebe's Blog

Sharing the Good News of Jesus!

